Thursday, June 20, 2013

The best and worst doubles formations

Kristianne Bontempo | Towpath Tennis Employee | Legit Tennis Fanatic

Towpath's Sean Turner and Hassan Malik
move as a team up at the net
When it comes to doubles, there is one rule we players often drill into our heads--rush the net! An effective strategy? Yes, but is it always the right strategy? No. 

Charging the net as soon as you possibly can is a common misconception of what's considered 'good doubles strategy'. If the net game is not your game there are other configurations you can try that might work in your favor. The goal is to find a position where you and your partner feel confident about your game. 

What we want to see: 
Both up - Of course in doubles, the preference is to close out the point by 'closing in' on the ball. If you or your partner have skilled volleys and can successfully cut off an approach shot, then you should definitely make your way up to net. Shorter strokes and a quicker pace is the game up front so stay on your toes and be ready for a sudden change of position.  

Both back - If your net game is off or your faced with lobbers, you can always choose to stay back and play off other strengths whether that's a deep lob, an angled passing shot, or drilling them at the net with solid ground strokes. But if you're back should your partner stay back?  If you want to cover the same amount of court then yes, your partner should stay back with you. Move as a team together.  

What we don't want to see: 
One up/one back - There are many times you find yourselves one up/one back and have success, but the only way to really succeed that way is if you and your partner have strong ground-strokes and poaching skills. If that's not the case, the issue with this configuration is that you both are leaving more than enough open court space available for your opponents to have a field day.  

Start up then retreat back - The only time you should retreat to the baseline when up at net is if you're running down a lob or preparing for an overhead return. 

"I" formation - This only works well during a service formation. But if you find you and your partner in "I" formation during a point, you might as well be playing 2 on 1--just don't do it.

*If you like what you see here, then don't forget to comment or subscribe!*

No comments:

Post a Comment